Skip to content
Published March 23, 2020

World of Warcraft Classic, a server option for the MMORPG World of Warcraft, was released by BlizzCon Entertainment on August 26th, 2019. It is also fondly referred to, as WoW Classic. The sole purpose of its creation was to allow players to relive the original experience of World of Warcraft as close as possible. WoW, Classic has replicated the combat mechanics of the original game version, from zone layouts to character models and even the talent trees. The maximum level of the player characters is 60.

Players have an option of choosing from the original eight races for the Alliance (humans, night elves, dwarves, gnomes) or the horde (trolls, The forsaken, orcs, Tauren).

How can you access WoW Classic?

First of all, you need to have a desktop app installed. Once installed, open the app and this is how it looks like, then create an account or log in using your existing account.

(Photo courtesy of Blizzard)

Next, Click on Games tab, to Select World of Warcraft from the menu on the top

(Photo courtesy of Blizzard)

Next, click on World of Warcraft and select WoW Classic. Select the account you wish to play with ( remember you need to have an active subscription to World of Warcraft. Here, you also need to select which folder to install WoW Classic so that can then download WoW Classic and show you when to play. Next hit the install button.  N?B you don’t need to pay for the WoW Classic server option, as long as your current World of Warcraft subscription is active. The subscription costs $15 every month. All characters will start at level 1.

(Photo courtesy of Blizzard)

If you want to play with your friends, then select the same realm that they are playing from the different realms. If you are a total beginner, the Normal realm might be most suitable for you because here, all zones, except capital cities and starting zones are Contested zones and players cannot attack each other in contested zones.

Next, you need to create a new character from the Create New Character tab. Here you will customize skin color, race, hairstyle, how you want the facial features to appear and so on. A point to note here is that, once a character has been created, it can’t be changed.

WoW Classic has 9 classes.

  • Priests who believe deeply in the holy light and can control the minds of their enemies.
  • Hunters, who train, tame and use wild beasts and weapons to track their prey.
  • Paladins. This class can only be rolled by Alliance characters. Paladins help their groups through blessings by holding vigil against evil forces.
  • The Druids are masters of shapeshifting that can commune with nature to heal the world.
  • Mages can teleport. They are also capable of burning or freezing their enemies.
  • The Warriors have excellent tactical combat skills and are skilled in assorted weaponry.
  • The Shaman commune with spirits to help their groups through the use of totems and can only be rolled by Horde characters.
  • Warlocks, are masters of demonic arts and can easily enslave demons to do what they want.
  • Lastly, the Rouges are first-class assassins and thieves, who know how to pick locks and use poisons to their advantage.

To enhance your classic experience, then the following addons will be of great value to you.

• Vendor Price – Shows the selling price for an item
• WoWhead Client – Helps in building database
• Classic Cordex – a quest helper.
• Advanced Interface Options – to show the options that have been hidden by Blizzard.
• OmniCC – Adds a timer to your cooldown abilities so you know when next to use them again.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *